伦敦天气

今天

°

Jun 27
°C
°C
%
Km/h

我们的历史

伦敦大理石拱门蒙特卡姆酒店位于伦敦瓦伦堡广场2号,坐落在威斯敏斯特市的波特曼广场保护区内。这个地方属于圣马里波恩区,作为米德尔塞克斯古森林的一部分曾经被树木和沼泽地所覆盖。

1532年威廉·波特曼爵士租下了大概270英亩土地,包括这片区域在内,1554年该地区的永久产权被永远地装让给威廉爵士和他的继承人。现在弥补波特曼地区的网格状街道开始设计与1757年,当时选择了马里波恩路绕过西区通往伦敦。1763年法国和英国之间的和平谈判使得伦敦的土地所有者在出租其土地进行开发方面更有信心,到了1764年波特曼广场和邻近一些街道的布局已经开始成形。这片住宅区到1820年完成了开发。

瓦伦堡2号上原来的房子是开发商出于投机目的而建起来的,他们从1789年开始从波特曼家族手里承租了这块地方。当时每栋房子在地下室之上可能有四层(包括一个阁楼),有三开间宽。所有的房子都配备了马厩,紧邻其后的就是可以从新魁北克大街进入的马厩房。

在十九世纪房子的外观被进行了改造,其中包括把房子改为魁北克马厩小屋。1941年1月一颗炸弹落在大坎伯兰广场新月附近,对所有建筑物造成了损害。34-38号遭受了轻微的爆炸破坏,40号被记录为严重损坏,但可以修复。战争期间在新月这些建筑正前方修建过一个地堡。战后34-40号继续作为独立的住所,直到1964年之前的某个时间,34-38号被并成一个叫做“东非之家”的建筑。40号则仍然是一处独立的房子。

1967年伦敦市威斯敏斯特波特曼广场保护区被正式划定并在1979年和1990年得到延续。在七十年代初皮卡迪利庄园酒店有限公司提出一项方案,要在瓦伦堡2号建一个拥有112个房间的酒店。威斯敏斯特议会坚持认为,月牙形的乔治亚风格外墙必须予以保留。新酒店于1973年开业并以蒙特卡姆侯爵的名字命名,这名侯爵指挥的法国部队在18世纪中叶争夺加拿大控制权的战斗中被英国击败。这场战斗和原建筑的日期还有加拿大省份魁北克,这栋建筑后面的原马厩房就是以这个省份命名。

背部

您若继续浏览此网站,便表示同意使用Cookies(信息块)。若想了解更多关于我们的隐私及Cookies(信息块)政策, 点击这里. 接受Cookies(信息块)

Discover The Luxury Lifestyle

Explore The World Of Montcalm

Unique Rooms Even By London Luxury Standards

Stunning, Luxurious With World Class Designs

Effortless Luxury

Dining with Distinction

Rejuvenating Experience

Live Eventful Life

Local Temperature
20°C
Local Date
30 Sep 2014
Local Time
12:48
Location
London

MAKE A RESERVATION

TRAVEL DATES

ROOM(s)

Our History

The Montcalm London Marble Arch spans across 34-40 Great Cumberland Place, London and is located within Westminster's Portman Square conservation area. This area, within the arish of St. Marylebone was once covered with trees and marshland as part of the ancient forest of Middlesex.

In 1532 Sir William Portman took on a lease of around 270 acres that included this area of which in 1554 the freehold was conveyed in perpetuity to Sir William and his heirs. The grid of streets that now make up the Portman Estate began to be laid out in 1757 when Marylebone Road was sited to provide a route to the City bypassing the West End. In 1763 the peace negotiated between France and England made London's landowners more confident about leasing their lands for development, and by 1764 the laying out of Portman Square and some neighbouring streets had begun. By 1820 the development of the Estate was complete.

The original houses at 34-40 Great Cumberland Place were erected speculatively by developers who leased plots from the Portman family from 1789. Each house probably had four storeys (including an attic storey) over a basement, and was three bays wide. All the houses came with stabling in Quebec Mews, directly behind, which was accessed from New Quebec Street.

Exterior alterations were made to the houses during the nineteenth century and this included the conversion to cottages of Quebec Mews. In January 1941 a bomb landed close to the Great Cumberland Place crescent and damaged all of its buildings. Numbers 34-38 suffered minor blast damage and number 40 was recorded as seriously damaged, but repairable. A bunker was built during the war immediately outside the front of these buildings on the crescent. Following the war numbers 34-40 continued as individual dwellings until sometime before 1964, when 34-38 were converted into one building called East Africa House. Number 40 was still a separate house or office.

In 1967 the London Borough of Westminster's Portman Square conservation area was designated and extended in 1979 and 1990. In the early 1970's Piccadilly Estate Hotels Ltd put forward a plan to build a 112 bedroom hotel on the site of 34-40 Great Cumberland Place. Westminster Council insisted that the crescent-shaped Georgian facade was retained. The new hotel opened in 1973 and was named The Montcalm, after the Marquis de Montcalm, who commanded the French forces defeated by the English in the struggle for possession of Canada in the mid-eighteenth century. The link being the date of this battle and of the original building, also the Canadian province Quebec, which had leant its name to the original mews to the rear of the building.

BACK

Connect with us

The Montcalm London Marble Arch on Facebook The Montcalm London Marble Arch on YouTube The Montcalm London Marble Arch on Twitter The Montcalm London Marble Arch on LinkedIn The Montcalm London Marble Arch on Google Plus

By continuing to browse the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more about our privacy and cookie policy, Click here. Accept Cookies